Progress Challenge – Design Elements (Principles)

Hi All! Well it’s a Friday, and instead of sitting at my 9-5er work desk, I’m sitting at my home study desk working on my coursework. That’s right, I’m having an annual leave day to do homework! Not my ideal situation, but there is so much going on in ‘life’ at the moment that it is difficult to have a good few hours to just sit down and get some study done. So I’ve resorted to using my holiday days. Not ideal, but what can you do?

Anyway, enough of my grumbling, this morning I got working on my next Progress Challenge. In it we had to photograph five things from around our immediate environment to represent five design principles. A little confusing seeing as the title of the challenge says “Elements”, but I’m trying not to get too hung up on that.

I took all of the photos on my old Canon DSLR (digital single lens reflex) I haven’t had out of it’s carry bag for at least six years. Whenever I take photos now it’s usually just with my iPhone, or on ‘special’ occasions I use the little Canon Ixus I have – they both take pretty good photos for what I usually need them for… ah Facebook, Instagram and some photo frames lol… but that’s not quite what I need for the design course unfortunately. Super lucky I had the old camera and hadn’t gotten rid of it like I’d planned.

So, without me rambling on for too much longer… here are the photos I took:

“Balance”
“Contrast”
“Pattern”
“Rhythm”
“Unity”

I did a little bit of playing around with them in Photoshop – which I still am not super comfortable in using – just a bit of cropping, brightening, etc.

Leave a Reply

