Happy (Almost) Easter

Well look at that, not a week in and I’m already kind-of breaking my new blogging rule – it’s only Thursday morning and here’s a new post. Ah, so what. Life’s messy and unpredictable – two things I’m learning (trying) to accept nowadays. So it is what it is.

So how’s your week been? As usual I’ll describe mine as pretty busy…

  • Went to a lovely friends wedding on the weekend. She’d put a lot of work into it to make it just right for them and it really showed.
  • I experienced my first migraine – oh yippee…. It was horrendous! Any advice on dealing with them would be so so appreciated!
  • Braved the cold, wind and rain at the Red Hot Summer Tour.
  • Finished learning the Bollywood choreography in dance class. It’s pretty challenging!
  • Watched Ted 2 (and used itunes rentals) for the first time. It was funnier than I expected.

Annnnndddd during all this time I also managed to submit another assignment – yay 🙂 This course is definitely more work than I thought it would be. I’m enjoying it, but it can be difficult to fit it all in sometimes… I’m starting to forget what a good night’s sleep is like, lol :-/

Anyway, the assignment was to create an advertisement and presentation for a magazine in the style of the art style we researched for our last assignment. Mine was on Art Deco so that’s what my ad had to look like.

The presentation had to address a whole heap of things like aspects of the styles form and function; examples of the trend then and now; product marketing and production considerations; IP considerations; and connections and associations between history, theory and contemporary practice. All interesting to research and read about, but I get a little annoyed having to answer questions about it all… I know, I know it is an important part of the learning too.

So this is where I would post a picture of my finished ad… except I’m writing this on my phone via Safari seeing as Blogger no longer has an app, and it won’t let you you upload photos when you’re using your phone – frustrating! If anyone knows why the Blogger app got removed, I’d luv to know!

UPDATE: For now, here’s a link to it on Instagram: https://instagram.com/p/BDUHHQnIkrr/

Anyway, from my own observations I can recognise that it needs more work, i.e. the colours don’t seem quite right, but I’m not 100% sure how to ‘fix’ it. I guess that’s all part of the learning and experience process. I am pretty happy that I managed to create a wine bottle though! And I like my art deco pattern 🙂

Well, it’s time for me to go… Have a great Easter!

Leave a Reply

