Reading Notes: “Eight Principles of Creativity” – Landor

8 Principles

Back into study mode today!

I’m back! Wow, what a few weeks I’ve had! I think I ended up having over two weeks off work sick, and even when I did go back last week I was still not 100%. Feeling a lot better now, but I’m still trying to take it a bit easy.

If you follow me on Snapchat or Instagram you would have seen I spent last weekend in Katoomba which was great – but I’ll write a separate post about that a bit later on 🙂 Today I’m finally getting back into my studying (I haven’t done any since I moved!) and I just wanted to post something up on here to let you know I’m still around lol 🙂

This book, ‘Eight Principles of Creativity‘ by Landor is one I downloaded on iTunes waaay back when I first started my Graphic Design course, before I know who Landor were. It’s a pretty short quick read, but has some interesting points. Here are my notes…

  • Creativity is individual and universal
  • Creativity is intellectual and artful
  • Creativity is distinctively human
  • Creativity is not a skill set, it is a mindset
  • Everyone has the ability to be creative
  • Creativity requires playfulness, but also discipline to reach an end goal
  • Creativity seeks to make a difference
  • Creativity requires the willingness to let go of conventions and values imagination
  • New ideas often meet resistance, therefore creativity requires courage
  • Know the difference between what you see and what you perceive
  • Identify patterns and connections that aren’t always obvious
  • To foster creativity, an element of freedom is required
  • Ask questions
  • Use lateral thinking
  • “It took me four years to paint like Raphael, but a lifetime to paint like a child.” – Pablo Picasso
  • Be willing to accept ambiguity

Anyway, off to get stuck into my next assignment – investigating software… what fun haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

