Study Notes: Elements of Design & Design Principles

line pattern repetition rhythm unity

Line… Pattern… Repetition…

Friday already! Wow! This week’s gone super fast… I’ve been getting back into studying (thankfully), but nothing much interesting from it to share at the moment so I thought I’d do a quick little post about some of the very basics I’ve learnt so far – the Elements and Principles of design…

Here’s my brief summary…

Elements of 2D design:

  • Line – Solid, implied, edges, lines of vision, defining shapes and boundaries
  • Shape – Outlines, geometric, abstract, representational, figure/ground (positive/negative), typographic
  • Colour – RGB, CMYK, reflected, subtracted, hue, value, shade, tone, tint, saturation, warm, cool, primary, additive, subtractive, secondary, printers, pantone, web-safe
  • Texture – Tactile, pattern

Design Principles

  • Format
  • Balance
  • Visual Hierarchy
  • Rhythm
  • Unity
  • Scale

Can you see any that I may have missed?

I found these interesting to learn about, but oddly quite difficult to consciously integrate or recognise in some design work… I would be able to say whether a design was ‘working’ or not, but not always be able to pin-point the exact elements or principles that are affecting this. It’s very strange… Something to keep working on I guess. Continuous learning seems to be a bit of a theme within design, but thankfully I’m okay with that 🙂

Hope you’ve all had a great week!

Leave a Reply

